Book Recommendations

Our Bodies, Ourselves by the Boston Women’s Health Collective

Period Repair Manual by Lara Briden

A Mind of Your Own by Kelly Brogan

Witches, Midwives, and Nurses: A History of Women Healers by Barbara Ehrenreich and Deirdre English

Women Who Run With Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estés

How to Stay Out of the Gynecologist’s Office by Suzann Gage

Sweetening The Pill: Or How We Got Hooked On Hormonal Birth Control by Holly Grigg – Spall

Moral Property of Women: History of Birth Control Politics in America by Linda Gordon

Understanding Human Sexuality by Janet Hyde and John DeLamater       

Justisse Method: Fertility Awareness and Body Literacy: A User's Guide by Geraldine Matus       

Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom and The Wisdom of Menopause by Christiane Northrup

Womans Safe Health: The Antidote to Status Quo Health Care by Elizabeth Shadigian

Woman Code by Alisa Vitti

Down There: Sexual and Reproductive Health by Susan Weed

Taking Charge of Your Fertility and Cycle Savvy by Toni Weschler

                                        

Fertility Awareness Method + Hormonal Health

Daysy https://www.usa.daysy.me/

Fertility Friday Podcast http://www.fertilityfriday.com/

Flo Living https://www.floliving.com/blog/

Groove http://www.readytogroove.com/the-cycle/

Holistic Hormonal Health with Hannah Ransom http://holistichormonalhealth.com/

Honoring Our Cycles: Garden of Fertility http://www.gardenoffertility.com/

Kindara http://blog.kindara.com/

Nicole Jardim’s Blog http://nicolejardim.com/blog/

Nesting Consulting http://www.nestconsulting.co.nz/

Menstruation Matters http://www.menstruationresearch.org/blog/

Lara Briden’s Healthy Hormone Blog http://www.larabriden.com/

Period Party Podcast http://theperiodparty.com/

Red Tent Sisters http://www.redtentsisters.com/

Society for Menstrual Cycle Research http://www.menstruationresearch.org/

Taking Charge of Your Fertility http://www.tcoyf.com/

The Beautiful Cervix Project http://beautifulcervix.com/

Website & Blog Recommendations

Cycle Dork http://cycledork.com/

The Functional Pelvis Blog http://www.functionalpelvis.com/the-pelvic-blotter/

The Healthy Womb http://www.thehealthywomb.com/healthy-womb-blog

Jessa Blades’ Blog http://www.jessablades.com/summary-blog/

Moontime Rising Blog http://www.moontimerising.com/

Period Wise http://www.periodwise.com/

Samantha Zipporah’s Blog http://www.samanthazipporah.com/stories-inspiration-blog/

Suzy Knew! http://suzyknew.com/

Movie Recommendations

Endo What? www.endowhat.com/

Ovarian Psychos https://ovarianpsycos.com/

Sweetening the Pill http://www.sweeteningthepill.com/

Fertility Tracker Apps

If you’re interested in fertility tracking, then make sure the app you use will allow you to enter symptothermal information (basal body temperature, cervical mucous, and cervical positioning).

Below we’ve listed only apps that allow you to enter symptothermal information. There are a lot of options, even more than we have written below! Here are a few things to keep in mind.

Be aware of data privacy when choosing the right app for you: http://karamariaananda.com/blog/period-privacy

Appleseed Fertility app reviews: http://www.appleseedfertility.com/fa-apps.html

http://www.readytogroove.com/

Dot

Femm

Fertility Friend

Groove

Lily

Kindara -- Kindara has their own oral fertility thermometer, called Wink

MyDays -- Daysy also has their own fertility tracking device

Natural Cycles

Ova Graph

Menstrual Cup Info

http://putacupinit.com/

http://menstrualcupreviews.net/

http://menstrualcup.co/

Lots of how-to videos for menstrual cups on Youtube https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+use+menstrual+cup

Menstrual Cup Product List: If you’re new to menstrual cups or want to make a cup switch, the amount of menstrual cups to choose from can seem daunting. Check out the sites above to read reviews and even take a Put A Cup In It quiz for cup suggestions based on your needs, health history, and internal anatomy. The following is not an exhaustive list (you’ll find more on the websites above!).

Diva Cup

Eva Cup

FemmyCycle

The Keeper

Lily Cup

Lunette

Me Luna

Moon Cup

Ruby Cup

Sckoon Cup

Soft Cup They have a cup option that’s disposable after up to 12 hours of use, too.

Sea Sponges

Holy Sponge

Jade & Pearl

The Sea Sponge Company

Period Underwear

Luna Panties

Thinx

There are other period underwear options, too. Here’s a review of the top 10 period undies: http://menstrualcupreviews.net/best-period-panties-reviews/

Also, check out Icon, pee-proof underwear for urinary incontinence

Organic Cotton Pads and Tampons

Conscious Period

Cora

Lola

Natracare

Organyc

Seventh Generation

The Honest Company

Cloth Pads

EcoFemme

Glad Rags

Luna Pads

Moon Pads

There are lots of other cloth pad options. Here is a top 10 review: http://menstrualcupreviews.net/reusable-menstrual-cloth-pads/.

Etsy also has lots of cloth pad makers: https://www.etsy.com/search?ref=auto1&q=cloth+pads&order=most_relevant&view_type=gallery&ship_to=US

Here are guides and patterns to make your own cloth pads: http://clothpads.wikidot.com/patterns

Other Projects & Orgs We Love

Arvigo Techniques of Mayan Abdominal Massage--There are many types of abdominal massage, and the Arvigo Technique is only one type. You can learn more about abdominal massage and enter your location to find an Arvigo-trained practicioner near you https://arvigotherapy.com/practitioners

Association of Fertility Awareness Professionals http://www.fertilityawarenessprofessionals.com/

Blood Cycle Conference http://bloodcycleconference.com/

Center for Reproductive Justice http://www.reproductiverights.org/

The Cliteracy http://projects.huffingtonpost.com/cliteracy

Humans With Periods https://www.facebook.com/humanswithperiods/?fref=ts

Indigemama http://indigemama.com/

Informed Choice for Amerika http://www.informedchoiceforamerika.com/

Jen Lewis’s Beauty in Blood

Justisse Healthworks for Women https://www.justisse.ca/ They also have a list of international holistic reproductive health practitioners who can work with you in person or via Skype! https://justisse.ca/index.php/hrhp_pages/directory

Lady Parts Justice http://www.ladypartsjustice.com/

My Moontime http://www.mymoontime.com/index.html

The Red Web http://www.theredweb.org/

Sustainable Cycles https://sustainablecycles.org/

Untabooed http://www.untabooed.org/

#wearehappyperiod https://hashtaghappyperiod.org/

Wombs for Wisdom http://www.wombsforwisdom.com/

If you see any resources, websites, books, or menstrual care products that are unlisted that you’ve enjoyed and found helpful, please email us at thefifthvitalsign@gmail.com. We’d love to make our resource list as comprehensive as possible. Thank you!